140 Main St.

Binghamton, NY 13905

(607) 217-4575

Info@Audiomanonline.com

Store Hours:

Mon-Fri:  9:00am - 5:30pm 

Sat:  9:00am - 5:30pm 

Site Created by: Tex Wilson

Ignition Interlock systems are an alcohol ignition interlock device which prevents a person under the influence of alcohol from starting the vehicle. In NY the minimum interlock period in all cases is six months.

Drager Ignition Interlock

Ignition Interlock System Installation

Audioman of Binghamton NY is an official Drager IID distributor. An ignition interlock device (IID) is a breathalyzer installed in a driver’s vehicle that measures the level of alcohol in your breath. Connected directly to your vehicle’s ignition system, you are required to blow into the attached mouthpiece to test your Breath Alcohol Concentration (BrAC). In the case, the alcohol concentration exceeds a specified legal level, the interlock device temporarily prevents your vehicle from starting.

All 50 states in the US have adopted laws that allow or require the installation of devices to prevent convicted DUI offenders from driving under the influence of alcohol. These ignition interlock laws vary widely from state to state. 

Our Locations: Syracuse, Watertown, Binghamton

Main Office: Interlock of Upstate NY LLC.

Phone: (315) 299-8099

New York Ignition Interlock Laws

Draeger, Inc. makes every attempt to maintain up-to-date legal information on our website. Other factors may also affect the way your state laws will apply to individual cases. It is advised to always consult with your monitoring authority, attorney, or local court for case-specific information.

New York ignition interlock laws mandates ignition interlock devices for all drivers convicted of DUI.

  • An interlock device must be installed in any vehicle owned or driven by the offender.

  • It must remain installed from the end of the suspension period until the end of a period determined by the court.

  • The minimum interlock period in all cases is six months.

 

License Suspension in New York DUI Laws

Administrative Suspension: New York DUI laws state that a driver who registers a BAC of .08% or more during a field breathalyzer test or who refuses to take a test is subject to an immediate, automatic administrative license suspension.

  • If the suspension is not challenged successfully within 10 days, the suspension will remain in effect until the conclusion of the driver's DUI court case.

Drager 7000

Judicial Suspension: Upon conviction for DUI, an offender is subject to further license suspension.

  • The suspension period ranges from six months for first-time offenders to one year for second, third, and fourth offenses.

  • Upon a fifth conviction, offenders face a lifetime license revocation.

DUI Penalties and Fees in New York

1st Offense

Fine: $500 to $1,000
Jail Time: Up to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 6 months

 

2nd Offense

Fine: $1,000 to $5,000
Jail Time: 5 days to 4 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year

 

3rd Offense

Fine: $2,000 to $10,000
Jail Time: 10 days to 7 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year

 

4th Offense

Fine: $2,000 to $10,000
Jail Time: 10 days to 7 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year

 

5th Offense

Fine: $2,000 to $10,000
Jail Time: 10 days to 7 years
Period of License Suspension: Lifetime

Source(s): N.Y. Veh. & Traf. §§ 1192, 1193, 1198

New York State Division of Criminal Justice: Ignition Interlock. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/opca/ignition.htm

New York Department of Motor Vehicles. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from 

https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/penalties-alcohol-or-drug-related-violations